Colour palette

The colour palette consists of 5 primary and 17 secondary colours.

 It therefore offers a wide and flexible colour range to meet many different needs and address different target groups. The colours may be applied in different hues.

The complete colour palette is based on Denmark’s core values: variety, creativity and equality.

The more vivid and pure colours are both vivid and eye-catching, signaling strength, dynamism and Danishness.

The more pale and cool hues are inspired by many of our national strengths such as nature, energy, design, innovation, history, and art and culture.

The pure and vivid colours can be utilised to express life and dynamism, while the more subdued, cool and classic colours can be utilised to express tradition and history. Colour selection should always reflect the type of information, target group and choice of imagery.


Share this page

Colour systems

Here is a short explanation of when to apply the different colour systems:

Pantone colours (PMS)

Pantone colours (PMS) is a global colour system used to specify colours. Pantone is primarily used for printed matter such as stationary and serigraphic print on gift items and apparel.

CMYK (4-colour)

CMYK colour references are used with most printed matter.

RGB and HEX (#)

RGB and HEX values are used with digital media, such as websites and PowerPoint presentations.

Film/ 3M Scotchcal

Used with signage where logos and text are rendered on adhesive film and transferred as cut-outs onto smooth surfaces.


NCS references are used on painted surfaces, such as walls.


RAL references are used only where NCS and PMS are not applicable.